The Wonderful Cross Meaning

The wonderful Cross is a song by Chris Tomlin and appears on the album The Noise We Make and released in 2001.

We lived in worldly lives and we are all sinners but condemned to eternal death and separation from God because He is Holy God that can defeat sin. God always provided a way for us through His son Jesus. He done a great sacrifice for us from our sinful ways and made us righteous. The cross is a symbol of shame but now it is God’s symbol of redemption and love for us. We die to our sins daily so we must truly believe and alive in Christ. Believe that Jesus is the Christ. Be thankful to our God for His great grace and mercy for us.

Lyrics:

When I survey the wondrous cross
On which the Prince of Glory died
My richest gain I count but loss
And pour contempt on all my pride
See from his head, his hands, his feet
Sorrow and love flow mingled down
Did ever such love and sorrow meet
Or thorns compose so rich a crown

O the wonderful cross, O the wonderful cross
Bids me come and die and find that I may truly live
O the wonderful cross, O the wonderful cross
All who gather here by grace draw near and bless
Your name

Were the whole realm of nature mine
That were an offering far too small
Love so amazing, so divine
Demands my soul, my life, my all

Love so amazing, so divine
Demands my soul, my life, my all
That’s the beauty in His name
That’s the glory of the pain
One love for God

Acts 5:30 – “The God of our fathers raised up Jesus, whom you had put to death by hanging Him on a cross.”

Leave a Reply

