Homesick (Mercy Me) Meaning

“Homesick” was written by Bart Milliard and a song by Christian Rock Band Mercy Me. It was included and released on the studio album Undone. This song expressed the grief of the band after the nine people that connected to them was died.

Homesick (Mercy Me). It is an indeed beautiful song.

You’re in a better place, I’ve heard a thousand times
And at least a thousand times I’ve rejoiced for you
But the reason why I’m broken, the reason why I cry
Is how long must I wait to be with you

I close my eyes and I see your face
If home’s where my heart is then I’m out of place
Lord, won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
I’ve never been more homesick than now

Help me Lord cause I don’t understand your ways
The reason why I wonder if I’ll ever know
But, even if you showed me, the hurt would be the same
Cause I’m still here so far away from home

In Christ, there are no goodbyes
And in Christ, there is no end
So I’ll hold onto Jesus with all that I have
To see you again

I can only imagine that this song is very meaningful. The song means that the person you loved is already in heaven and with Jesus now. You really miss this person so much  that you wanted to be there in heaven too. Your heart feel so bad and you are homesick missing this person. This song also means that you really want to see the person you loved again because your heart belongs to that person .Being on earth without your heart  ( the person you loved) makes your heart homeless.

This song also remind us that however and no matter what happen in our life, how much we suffer in pain, God is always here, to remove and replace this with happiness. Hold on with  God and  He will do everything for you.

Leave a Reply

